freelancehost.blogg.se

Creating stylized characters book
Creating stylized characters book







When developing a model for games, we usually have quite rough deadlines, so there is not too much time to start a character from scratch, noodling with spheres and simple shapes. The hardest thing here is not only to transfer all the details into a three-dimensional world, but also to improve the character even more, making her expressive and clearly depicting her personality from the very beginning. Once the concepts are ready and accepted, we can move on to turning our 2D drawing into a 3D model. Gathering references and creating concepts in Procreate This way it will be much easier to feel the character’s personality and make her match the initial description not only in static, but also in dynamic and movement. I made several examples of the outfits to choose from, and I also created a map of facial expressions and emotions for the animator. For this purpose, I usually use my iPad and the Procreate app as I really like the natural feeling of their Pencil, Charcoal, and Ink brushes that are perfect for sketching. Then I moved on to sketching and creating the concepts. For this particular character, I was looking for the references of people who had similar appearance and facial features, references of hairdos with curls, and a lot of images of outfits of the 1920s. For this purpose I usually use PureRef – a helpful little program that keeps all your pictures neat and organized. Before I even started sketching, I gathered a large moodboard, collecting the most appropriate images.

creating stylized characters book creating stylized characters book

At the beginning of the project, I was given a detailed description of the character followed by a number of references about the style, outfits and personal details of our Lady Detective.









Creating stylized characters book